Ben spent the better part of August and a chunk of September camped out at his office, which meant that for many evenings, it was just Teddy and me at home for dinner. Since the pooch doesn’t eat people food (unless it’s something that fell on the floor, in which case, fair game!), that’s 50% of the usual consumers in a kitchen that produces three to four new recipes a week. The leftovers situation has been REAL. Staunch Midwestern girl that I am, I can’t handle the idea of wasting food. Instead of tossing the leftovers I couldn’t eat, I started asking friends if they’d mind if I dropped off a giant pan of XYZ for dinner that night. Gracious pals that they are, they usually a) said yes, then b) asked me to stay to join them. Life tip: a successful way to get yourself invited over for dinner is to offer to bring it. This slow cooker Greek chicken, however, was a different situation. I didn’t share it. Not one bite. This one stayed right at home in my refrigerator, where I proceeded to devour it for lunch and dinner, sometimes in the same day. It is THAT GOOD. (I didn’t want to share this Crockpot Chicken and Potatoes either.) Looking for a keeper recipe? Slow Cooker Greek Chicken, quite literally, is it.

What Makes Slow Cooker Greek Chicken Recipe So Special

Like Crockpot Italian Chicken, Greek chicken is a textbook example of the triumph of simple ingredients. It combines:

lightly browned chicken breasts (I also used this trick in my Crock Pot Chicken Marsala),convenient Greek pantry staples (holla roasted red peppers!), anda 30-second Greek red wine vinegar dressing.

I promise that the extra step of browning the chicken in a pan on the stove top before adding it to the crock pot is 1,000% worth it. Your taste buds will thank you, and the golden color is much prettier. I enjoy Mediterranean flavors, so I expected I’d like the Greek chicken just fine. What I didn’t expect was to fall for it so completely that the leftovers turned into a hoarding scenario. Even after hours in a slow cooker, the flavors of the Greek chicken stay remarkably vibrant and bright (just like my Crock Pot Moroccan Chicken). The chicken is some of the most tender I’ve ever had in a crock pot chicken recipe; the dried herbs don’t lose their oomph, and the roasted red peppers and olives give the dish a robust flavor. I opted for a sprinkle of feta cheese and fresh thyme at the end, but if you prefer to omit either, the Greek chicken is still tasty without.

What to Serve with Greek Chicken

Couscous. This chicken would be tasty served with Israeli Pearl Couscous Salad with Feta and Mint or brown rice.Pasta. Mediterranean Pasta would be delicious with this chicken.Salad. Greek Salad or Mediterranean Roasted Vegetable and Chickpea Salad or Anytime Arugula Salad are all perfect side dishes for this recipe.

How to Store and Reheat This Recipe

To Store. Store leftovers in the refrigerator for up to 4 days.To Reheat. Since chicken can be hard to reheat, I recommend cutting it into smaller pieces, then reheating gently in the microwave with a splash of chicken stock. You can also enjoy leftover chicken at room temperature over salads or try mixing it into hot pasta. I enjoyed it sliced on top of a salad, with the red peppers and olives mixed in. Slow Cooker Greek Chicken Recipe   WellPlated com - 73Slow Cooker Greek Chicken Recipe   WellPlated com - 16Slow Cooker Greek Chicken Recipe   WellPlated com - 95Slow Cooker Greek Chicken Recipe   WellPlated com - 5Slow Cooker Greek Chicken Recipe   WellPlated com - 68Slow Cooker Greek Chicken Recipe   WellPlated com - 61Slow Cooker Greek Chicken Recipe   WellPlated com - 74