I have absolutely no idea what this would be like as a side because, despite my intentions to serve it as such, we devoured the entire thing for our main meal. I meant to serve this Brussels sprouts mac and cheese with chicken, but as soon as he tasted the mac, Ben scooped a huge serving of it onto his plate, gave me a sincere look, and stated matter of factly, “I’m not having any chicken.” I reacted the way I did whenever my mom made the blue box mac growing up: I piled my plate high with Brussels sprouts mac and cheese too. I couldn’t let Ben get to it all! If ever there were a mac and cheese recipe to eat as a main event, it would be this Brussels sprouts mac and cheese. Just like this Tuscan Chicken Mac and Cheese, it’s rich, creamy, and tastes over-the-top indulgent. I do truly hope you make it for Friendsgiving, Thanksgiving, and every holiday to follow because it will fit right in with the classic spread. Thanks to a few sneaky swaps, however, this mac and cheese recipe is actually far healthier than its creamy, cheesy taste and texture suggests (just like this Cauliflower Pasta).

Secrets to a Lighter Brussels Sprouts Mac and Cheese Recipe

In place of heavy cream, I used low-fat Greek yogurt, which gives the sauce the same velvety richness but is far lower in fat and high in protein. For the cheese, I selected varieties that pack a punch, so a lesser amount goes a long way. My picks are extra-sharp white cheddar, which melts beautifully and has a classic mac-and-cheese taste I adore, along with Parmesan for its savory/salty factor and the way it browns in the oven to give the mac and cheese its tasty golden top. My final two healthy tricks: I used whole wheat pasta in place of the regular white pasta (undetectable!), and, of course, we have our glorious green, the Brussels sprouts! I am firmly convinced that anyone who doesn’t like Brussels sprouts simply has not had tried them cooked properly yet. If these crispy, caramelized Oven Roasted Brussels Sprouts or these Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Garlic and Parmesan don’t convince you, then this Brussels Sprouts Mac and Cheese with Bacon assuredly will. First, we sauté the Brussels sprouts with bacon (YUM), then liven them up further with a touch of lemon juice and generous amount of black pepper. Don’t skimp here. The lemon might sound like an odd choice, but Brussels sprouts crave acid. The lemon also helps cut some of the richness, making it even harder to stop yourself at one serving. The black pepper is lively and gives the Brussels sprouts mac and cheese true pizzazz. I decided to create this healthy mac and cheese recipe when a neighbor mentioned that she’d ordered a Brussels sprouts mac and cheese at a restaurant and knew I’d love it. I started poking around for recipe inspiration and found it in a cookbook written by one of the food bloggers I admire most, Deb from Smitten Kitchen. In her latest cookbook, Smitten Kitchen Every Day, Deb has a recipe for a weeknight Brussels sprouts pasta bake that she touts as one of her household’s new favorite weeknight dinners. Deb’s recipe goes heavier on the cheese than mine does. I promise this Brussels sprouts mac and cheese is plenty cheesy; I’m actually glad I didn’t add more. Deb’s version also does not include bacon, which we certainly enjoyed. When I first looked at the recipe, I thought that it seemed more of a side dish versus a main, but after witnessing the way Ben and I inhaled it, I can state from experience that it’s a fantastic option for both. Give this Brussels sprouts mac and cheese a test drive for dinner this week, then make it again to wow your guests at Thanksgiving and beyond!

Other Tasty Brussels Sprouts Recipes

Brussels Sprouts Pasta with Brown ButterBrussels Sprouts SlawBrussels Sprouts GratinBalsamic Brussels Sprouts with Maple, Walnut and Feta

I love the presentation of baking this mac and cheese in a cast-iron skillet like this one (this is a second and very affordable option).You can also bake it in a classic casserole dish like this one. Brussels Sprouts Mac and Cheese with Bacon - 11Brussels Sprouts Mac and Cheese with Bacon - 11Brussels Sprouts Mac and Cheese with Bacon - 28Brussels Sprouts Mac and Cheese with Bacon - 70Brussels Sprouts Mac and Cheese with Bacon - 36Brussels Sprouts Mac and Cheese with Bacon - 81